ArtRio #1 – Highlights

Finally! Rio is starting to catch up with São Paulo and offering an ever growing options to see Contemporary and Modern Art. This really makes me happy, cause when I choose to come to Rio I knew it would never be like S. Paulo, but now I see a light at the end of the tunnel : )

ArtRio is Rio’s Contemporary Art Fair, and the only thing less positive, is the event duration, wish it would last longer…

Enjoy…

International gelleries like Gagosian from NY and White Cube from London and, of course, the best Brazilians too, like A Gentil Carioca and Mul.ti.plo showed some great works, from Man Ray, to Picasso. We could also apreciate works from Donald Judd, represented by the new yorker David Zwirner.

Not to mention Dalí and Andy Warhole who were also represented by some international renowned galleries.

About brazilians, the ones that caught my attention were definitely the drawings and paitings from Burle Marx (Modern Art will catch me every time) and Hélio Oiticica geometric representations.

Also become a big fan of Joaquin Torres García work, it reminds me one of my favourite painters, Amadeo de Souza Cardoso.

Hélio Oiticica

Picasso

Dalí

Joaquin Torres Garcia

Burle Marx

Paula Rego